Club Championship

Our Cub Championship is open to everyone in the Club and EVERYONE in the Club is encouraged to take part. It’s an opportunity to travel with other Club members to races in the area and to try some new races you might not have done before. Unlike the Club Series there are no special entry forms to enter the championship, by being a club member you are automatically in. All you have to do is choose at least one race from 4 of the 6 categories below. This year for the first time we have included a “Trail” category as a “middle ground” option for roadies and fell people! And of course you must run in your Totley vest!As with any game or competition it really helps to understand the rules. There are now six categories of race, short fell (FRA rules means 10k or less), long fell race (FRA rules 20k or more), a 10k, a half marathon ,a trail race and a Park Run.For the Club Championship members need to enter at least one race from four of the six categories. If a member enters more than one race from a category then the best score will be counted towards the championship. Points out of 100 calculated from overall position in race i.e. 100th out of 200 finishers = 50 points. Therefore if a member runs the Sheffield half marathon with 10,000 runners it is possible to score more points than running the Buxton Half with 2,000 runners. However the choices give everyone a chance to choose at least one race from four of the six categories.

2020 Championship Races:

Short fell race:

Hathersage Gala Fell Race – Monday 6th July TBC

Sheldon Fell Race – Thursday 16th July TBC

Bradwell Fell Race – Tuesday 4th August TBC

 

Long fell race:

Mickleden Straddle – Sunday 2nd February TBC

Baslow Boot Bash – Saturday 20th June

GoBigMoor – Saturday 10th October TBC

 

10 km:

Dronfield – Sunday 15th March

Moss Valley Madness – Sunday 13th September TBC

Sheffield – Sunday 27th September TBC

 

Half marathon:

Retford – Sunday 8th March

Sheffield – Sunday 29th March

Eyam – Sunday 17th May

 

5KM Parkruns – club vests to be worn:

Graves Park – 11th April

Manor & Castle – 16th May

Rother Valley – 14th November

 

Trail Runs:

Handsworth Hobble – Tuesday 9th June TBC

Bawtry Forest Trail Race/Katie Bel – Sunday 6th September Both TBC

Elsecar Half Marathon – Saturday 12th December TBC

 
 

CHAMPIONSHIP SCORING SYSTEM

The Championship Scoring System appears complicated but is actually quite simple – and fair.

  • There is a modified approach to scoring to be adopted this year
  • More information to follow soon
  • At least 4 races from 6 of the categories must be completed to get a championship score
  • Championship award per runner
  • One Individual Race Category Winner per runner

Totley AC Prizes Policy

 
 

2019 Championship Races:

Short fell race:

Grindleford – Thursday 20 th June

Bamford Carnival – Wednesday 17 th July

Eyam Barrel – Tuesday 27 th August TBC

 

Long fell race:

Mickleden Straddle – Sunday 3 rd February

Exterminator – Sunday 1 st September

GoBigMoor – Saturday 12 th October

 

10 km:

Dronfield – Sunday 7th April 10:00

Barlow – Friday 12 th July

Bolsover – Sunday 8 th December TBC

 

Half marathon:

Sheffield – Sunday 14th April

Worksop – Sunday 27 th October

Clowne – Sunday 24 th November

 

5KM Parkruns – club vests to be worn:

Graves Park – 6th April

Poolsbrook Chesterfield – 15th June

Bakewell – 21 st September

 

Trail Runs:

Carsington Water Half Marathon – Saturday 23d & February

Dovedale Dipper – Sunday 4 th August

Bawtry Forest Trail Race – Sunday 8th September

Ten10Ten – Sunday 6th October

 

Trail Runs:

Carsington Water Half Marathon – Saturday 24th & Sunday 25th February 9:30

Bawtry Forest Trail Race – Sunday 9th September

Ten10Ten – Sunday 7th October

Elsecar Half Marathon – Saturday 15th December